Review

SKIL SPT99-11 Worm Drive Table Saw Review: Worth It? (October 2026)

Updated on · By the Sawdust Soup team

The SKIL SPT99-11 suits buyers who need a 10-inch table saw with a 30-1/2-inch rip capacity, worm drive gearing and a rolling stand. Plan for its 94.3 lb weight and corded power when choosing a workspace.

DeWalt DWE7491RS 10-Inch With Rolling Stand, SKIL SPT99-11 worm drive table saw

In this review

DeWalt DWE7491RS 10-Inch With Rolling Stand

Best for wider sheet cuts9.0/10

See it on Amazon
On this page (9 sections)
  1. What does the SKIL SPT99-11 offer?
  2. How much rip capacity do you need?
  3. How do worm drive gearing and depth of cut affect the choice?
  4. What does the rolling stand change?
  5. How does the SKIL SPT99-11 compare with alternatives?
  6. What setup and care help the SKIL SPT99-11 work well?
  7. What common mistakes should you avoid?
  8. What safety features come with the SKIL SPT99-11?
  9. Should you choose the SKIL SPT99-11?

The SKIL SPT99-11 is a 10-inch worm drive table saw with a 30-1/2-inch rip capacity and rolling stand. Its fence, outfeed and left support suit buyers who need to rip broad stock and reposition the saw, provided they can plan around its weight and corded power.

We compared its features with three portable alternatives. The deciding questions are whether the SKIL's greater depth of cut and large stand wheels suit your work, and whether you need the wider rip capacity offered by the DeWalt and Bosch options.

What does the SKIL SPT99-11 offer?

The SKIL SPT99-11 combines worm drive gearing, a rack and pinion fence, and support for larger cuts. It is a corded saw with a rolling stand, aimed at work that calls for both substantial cutting capacity and movement between setup areas.

2

SKIL SPT99-11 Worm Drive 10-Inch Saw: Best for deep cuts

SKIL SPT99-11 Worm Drive 10-Inch Saw, SKIL SPT99-11 worm drive table saw
8.5/10Our score
  • 10-inch blade
  • 30-1/2-inch rip capacity
  • 3-5/8-inch depth of cut
  • 94.3 lb

A corded 10-inch table saw with worm drive gearing, a rack and pinion fence, and a rolling stand. It suits buyers who need broad rip capacity and expect to move the saw between work areas.

See it on Amazon

Pros

  • 30-1/2-inch rip capacity
  • Rack and pinion fence
  • Rolling stand with 16-inch wheels
  • Outfeed and left support

Cons

  • 94.3 lb calls for a plan when lifting
  • Corded power limits placement to suitable outlets

Who should buy the SKIL SPT99-11?

Buy it if your regular work includes wide stock, you want the deeper cut capacity among these picks, and you can roll the saw to its work area instead of carrying it often. The stand's 16-inch wheels and easy-load handles help with rolling, while the outfeed and left support can assist when one person handles larger cuts.

Skip it if you need a saw that's easy to lift into a vehicle or carry up stairs frequently. Its 94.3 lb weight makes lifting a real part of the transport plan.

Corded power means your setup needs a suitable outlet. If you want to compare stand styles before deciding, see our guide to table saws with stands.

What should you check before choosing the SKIL SPT99-11?

Start with the cuts you actually make, the path between storage and work, and your available shop space. Those three checks reveal whether the saw's capacity, stand and footprint fit your routine.

Measure the widest workpiece you expect to rip and check how you'll support it on both sides of the cut. A large capacity doesn't make an oversized panel easy to guide; stable support and a clear feed path matter too.

Our guide to table saw rip capacity explains how to match the measurement to common work.

Then map out transport. Include doors, steps, vehicle loading and where the saw will be stored, not just the distance it will roll on a flat floor.

A wheeled stand helps reposition the saw. You'll still need a safe way to lift or load it when the route requires that.

Finally, consider power and cleanup. The saw is corded, and its dust port elbow directs debris to one area for cleanup.

Check that the work area has a suitable outlet. Decide whether you want to connect dust collection before you settle on a permanent spot.

How much rip capacity do you need?

Choose a rip capacity that covers your widest planned cuts while leaving room to support and control the material. The SPT99-11's 30-1/2-inch capacity suits broad panels, but the right choice depends on the sheet goods you buy and the space you have to move them safely.

For occasional panel work, a wide capacity may be useful even if most cuts are narrower. For frequent sheet cutting, think through how the panel will approach the saw, where it will exit and who will help guide it when its size makes solo handling awkward.

The Bosch GTS15-10 offers a 32-1/8-inch capacity, while both DeWalt models here offer 32-1/2 inches. Choose one of those if your work needs the extra width and their stand or setup details fit your workspace.

Don't buy on the largest number alone. Match the saw's capacity with room for infeed and outfeed, a stable path for the panel, and enough clearance to stand in a safe position.

A roller stand for table saw outfeed support may also help with long stock when its height and placement suit your setup.

How do worm drive gearing and depth of cut affect the choice?

The SPT99-11's 3-5/8-inch depth of cut is a key reason to shortlist it when your work calls for more depth than the DeWalt DWE7491RS provides. SKILSAW describes the worm drive gearing as delivering torque and names a Dual-Field motor in its product description.

A depth figure tells you the saw's stated cutting limit, not how every material or blade combination will behave. Keep the blade in good condition, use one suited to the material and follow the manual's setup and cutting guidance.

The DWE7491RS lists a 3-1/8-inch cut at 90 degrees and 2-1/4 inches at 45 degrees. The product information here doesn't give a matching depth figure for the DWE7491X or Bosch, so compare the published specifications you can confirm if depth is central to your decision.

Power descriptions also differ. Bosch describes electronically regulated speed, and the DWE7491RS has a 15-amp motor.

If you need help interpreting power figures for home shop work, read our table saw horsepower guide.

What does the rolling stand change?

The included rolling stand helps you reposition the SKIL without carrying the saw by its base. Its 16-inch wheels and easy-load handles are designed to help it roll over uneven surfaces and stairs.

The wheels don't remove the need to plan transport. At 94.3 lb, the saw still calls for care when loading into a vehicle or lifting over an obstacle.

Check the complete route before buying, and decide where it will sit when you're done.

Compare each stand with how you set up and pack away. The Bosch has a Gravity-Rise wheeled stand with a foot release pedal.

The DWE7491RS has a rolling stand designed for easy setup and breakdown, and the DWE7491X comes with a scissor stand. For more stand options, our table saws with stands guide lays out the tradeoffs.

A stand also affects how much room you need around the saw. Leave space for the workpiece to approach and exit, for the fence to move, and for you to keep a steady stance without crossing the cord or crowding the blade area.

How does the SKIL SPT99-11 compare with alternatives?

Choose the SKIL for its deeper stated cut and large wheels; choose an alternative if its wider rip capacity, lower listed weight or stand arrangement better fits your work. This table puts the main differences in one place.

SawRip capacityDepth of cutStand or mobility detailWeight
DeWalt DWE7491RS32-1/2 in3-1/8 in at 90 degreesRolling stand110 lb
SKIL SPT99-1130-1/2 in3-5/8 inRolling stand, 16-inch wheels94.3 lb
DeWalt DWE7491X32-1/2 inNot statedScissor stand87 lb
Bosch GTS15-1032-1/8 inNot statedGravity-Rise wheeled stand103 lb

The DWE7491RS suits you if a little more rip width, its rolling stand and the stated 3-year limited warranty matter most. It weighs 110 lb, so consider that alongside the stand when planning to move it.

The DWE7491X offers the same stated rip capacity in this group with a scissor stand and weighs 87 lb. It may suit a buyer looking for a lighter saw with broad capacity, though you should compare the stand style with the way you plan to set up and store it.

The Bosch is a good comparison if you want its 32-1/8-inch capacity and Gravity-Rise stand. Its saw weight is 103 lb, and the stand is described as lighter for setup and transport.

See our SKIL SPT99-11 vs Bosch GTS15-10 comparison for a closer look at those two models.

What setup and care help the SKIL SPT99-11 work well?

Set the saw up on stable ground, with a clear feed path, an outlet within reach and enough room to support the workpiece. Before cutting, check the fence position, blade setup, guard and anti-kickback parts against the manual.

The rack and pinion fence is designed for quick, smooth adjustments. Confirm that it is set for the cut you intend to make, and avoid assuming an adjustment is correct just because the fence moves smoothly.

Our guide on how to align a table saw blade and fence covers alignment checks that can help you prepare for accurate cuts.

Keep the blade, table and supports free of debris, and inspect the cord and moving stand parts as part of routine setup. If you connect dust collection, check that the hose stays clear of the work and doesn't interfere with the stand or feed path.

For larger cuts, use the outfeed and left support as directed, and add suitable support if the stock extends beyond them. Don't start a cut until you can control the material from the beginning through the end of its travel.

What common mistakes should you avoid?

The most common buying mistake is choosing by rip capacity or depth alone. A saw's cutting range can't make up for a cramped workspace, poor material support or a transport route that requires more lifting than you can manage safely.

Another mistake is treating a rolling stand as a carry solution. The wheels help when rolling is possible, but you still need to account for stairs, loading, doorways and storage.

Plan those steps before the saw arrives.

Don't rush setup after moving the saw. Check that it is stable and clear the cord from the feed path.

Confirm the fence and blade setup, and make sure the guard and anti-kickback parts are in place as directed. Use the push stick when appropriate, and don't reach over a moving blade.

Finally, don't expect the dust elbow alone to remove all dust from a work area. Decide how you'll manage cleanup, and keep the space around the saw clear enough for safe movement and support.

What safety features come with the SKIL SPT99-11?

The SPT99-11 includes a Smart Guard System, anti-kickback device and push stick. SKILSAW also lists a brake as a special feature, but safe operation still depends on correct setup and following the manual.

Keep the blade guard and anti-kickback parts in place as directed. Use the push stick when appropriate, stand clear of the blade's line and avoid reaching over a moving blade.

Our guide to table saw safety features explains the role of a guard, riving knife and brake. Read the manual before operating the saw, and follow its directions for adjustments and safe use.

Should you choose the SKIL SPT99-11?

Choose the SKIL SPT99-11 if you need its 3-5/8-inch depth of cut, 30-1/2-inch rip capacity and large stand wheels and have a workable plan for transport, storage and corded power. Skip it if you'll lift the saw often or need more rip capacity than it offers.

Pick the DWE7491RS when the extra rip width, rolling stand and stated warranty suit your needs. Pick the DWE7491X if its lighter weight and scissor stand fit your routine, or compare the Bosch if its wider capacity and Gravity-Rise stand are a better match.

Before deciding, measure your work area and transport route, then compare the saw's capacity with your actual cuts. If you want to see how SKIL compares with the Bosch in more detail, read our SPT99-11 vs GTS15-10 guide.

Frequently asked questions

What is the rip capacity of the SKIL SPT99-11?

The SKIL SPT99-11 has a 30-1/2-inch rip capacity. That gives you room to rip wider panels than a compact saw can handle, but compare the measurement with the sheet goods and cuts you expect to make.

The Bosch GTS15-10 and DeWalt alternatives listed here have slightly wider capacities.

How deep can the SKIL SPT99-11 cut?

The SPT99-11 has a 3-5/8-inch depth of cut. SKILSAW describes its worm drive gearing and Dual-Field motor as part of the saw's design.

Follow the manual for blade setup and cutting limits, and don't assume a depth figure means every cut is suitable.

Is the SKIL SPT99-11 easy to move?

The saw comes with a rolling stand, 16-inch wheels and easy-load handles designed to help with moving it. The saw weighs 94.3 lb, so consider stairs, vehicle loading and storage before relying on the wheels alone.

Keep the cord and path clear during setup.

Does the SKIL SPT99-11 include safety parts?

The saw includes the Smart Guard System, anti-kickback device and push stick. Keep guards and safety parts installed as directed, and read the manual before use.

These parts do not replace safe feeding, suitable support or keeping hands away from the blade.